King Everett
Queen Kellita
Carnaval 2008
Page 6
2008 Carnaval SF  by images
www-royalty
from the capital of the world wide web
Friday at the de Young Museum
King & Queen Finals March 29th
Youth Royalty

32 Carnaval King and Queen strip down for crown

Apr 1, 2008 ...
It could have been the world's most multicultural strip show backstage at the South of Market club 1015 Folsom on Saturday night. In one corner, Talita Elias rubbed on body glitter while her mother completed the...

Newly crowned Carnaval Queen Kellita Garton takes a victo. ... disrobing of contemporary/fusion finalists Everett Harper and Garton, ...
www.sfchroniclemarketplace.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2008/04/01/DDIFVTBPV.DTL - 62k - Cached - Similar pages

 

 

 

 
 

t could have been the world's most multicultural strip show backstage at the South of Market club 1015 Folsom on Saturday night. In one corner, Talita Elias rubbed on body glitter while her mother completed the...

Read Full Story

Sort Comments by: Oldest First | Newest First

paulbarwick

4/1/2008 9:46:35 AM
 

If you are going to do beefcake, how about a few more photos of the guys?


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

qu1et

4/1/2008 10:26:56 AM
 

ha-ha! Nice April Fool's Prank, guys! Carnaval 2008 took place during the first week of February.


Recommend:    (1)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

sherrihorsie

4/1/2008 10:58:20 AM
 

Could we keep Rachel Howard on stories like this and away from SFB or other classical dance? Her story on Carnaval was halfway engaging and descriptive, whereas her slogs on the Ballet are turgid, obfuscating, convoluted and personally biased. I know I'm not the only one sick of her "problem" with Yuan Yuan Tan-(criminy, her feet aren't THAT big!). Her last review of San Jose Ballet simply didn't make any sense, and I would rather squat in a trench than read one of her artistic attempts at illuminating "Lines." Keep her on Folsom Street!


Recommend:    (2)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

y_p_w

4/1/2008 1:22:10 PM
 

http://www.carnavalsf.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=71&Itemid=200 Saturday, March 29, 2008 at 8:00 pm Mission Neighborhood Centers, Inc. CARNAVAL SAN FRANCISCO 2008 KING & QUEEN COMPETITION Club 1015 1015 Folsom Street, San Francisco, CA 94103


Recommend:    (2)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

bossandnova

4/1/2008 1:43:31 PM
 

I appreciate the publicity for Carnaval SF on Memorial Day weekend. Unlike its counterparts in other countries, San Francisco does not celebrate Carnaval in February (due to the weather; in South America and the Caribbean, February is actually in summer, whereas here, it would be too chilly for costumed participants). Thanks for the positive review! However, as a member of the Carnaval SF Advisory Committee, who has read Chronicle coverage every year, I do wish that the reporters would cease focusing on the "skin" aspect of Carnaval dance and culture. This is NOT a strip show, but a celebration of the human body in dance, with European, Native American and African roots. A key contest participant said the review "missed the rich opportunity to describe the fusion of the dance styles that reflect our diversity. And fell short of conveying the great spirit of love and community that was created that night." Readers, come & experience the love and community in May. Join us!


Recommend:    (6)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

yeyarea

4/1/2008 1:59:20 PM
 

I'm not understanding the concept of pinning a thong to one's underwear.


Recommend:    (4)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

arcane1

4/1/2008 2:16:59 PM
 

This was an enjoyable read, though sadly I'll likely be out of town AGAIN :/


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

kiana

4/1/2008 2:17:16 PM
 

Now this is what I call good cheer and clean fun. Carnaval is always a hoot if you can avoid being squashed in a crowd. I scout out the jiggly bits and hubby takes the photos. Where are the hunks?


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

qu1et

4/1/2008 2:44:36 PM
 

You guys crack me up! If this isn't an April Fool's joke, then do you celebrate Easter in July? ;-)


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

bossandnova

4/1/2008 2:49:34 PM
 

Response to Yeyarea: Carnaval costumes have to be carefully designed and constructed so as not to fall apart during a performance. Not just the beads and feathers need to be reinforced, but even undergarments must be reinforced. You would not believe how much work goes into the creation of these costumes! Although you cannot see the labor or the intricate construction, you might check out the website www.carnavalsf.com and click on some of the photo galleries to see how detailed the costumes can be. If you have ever seen this type of dancing, you will understand how much movement takes place, and how rapidly the dancers' bodies move. In order to be free to express themselves, it is necessary that the dancers' costumes, shoes, hairdos, headdresses, etc. be secured, so they will not present a danger or a distraction. Kiana, why don't you join a Carnaval contingent, learn to dance with those "hunks", and let your husband take photos of that? Join us!


Recommend:    (2)(0)

arrungiata

4/1/2008 4:21:00 PM
 

carnaval sf is great fun and a lively celebration of dance and culture! while the costumes may be considered skimpy here, i think the focus is more on the costume and dance aspect of the look and less on the skin factor. when i danced in carnaval a couple years ago, the only part of my costume that i had trouble with my headdress, which was a wee bit too loose and kept tipping forward when i did my shimmy-shake, almost hitting the tops of my matchy-matchy jeweled eyelashes, until someone brought alligator clips to fortify the bobby pins. =P there's food and dancing, it is very much a family day, too; i had never had my photo taken with so many people's babies as when i was i dancing in carnaval! i'm gonna miss it this year for my friend's wedding, but i hope to dance in it again next year. the live drums and dance performances are not to be missed. if you are in sf for carnaval, come on down and check it out!!


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

endofhippies

4/2/2008 9:02:03 AM
 

This is NOT a carnaval in any sense of the word. True arnaval or mrde gras has to do with getting ready for the lenten season! It is a tradition that catholics in this countries have, and other versions in other countries. This "festival" is superficial and has no meaning. If people want to parade around with little to cover them, fine, just DON'T call it carnaval.


Recommend:    (1)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

tubby

4/2/2008 10:57:38 AM
 

"This festival is superficial and has no meaning." would that be like easter and christmas and other fairy tales have no meaning to billions of others around the world? huh, is it like that?


Recommend:    (1)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

endofhippies

4/2/2008 11:21:02 AM
 

it looks like carnaval , it smeels like carnaval but it AIN't carnaval....it's a fake!


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

headofhippies

4/2/2008 11:38:54 AM
 

"would that be like easter and christmas and other fairy tales have no meaning to billions of others around the world?" Sort of. A better analogy would be if they started celebrating Kwanzaaa on the 4th of July because the weather's nicer then.


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

bossandnova

4/2/2008 12:32:09 PM
 

Hippies: It's true: the San Francisco Carnaval is no longer connected with the Catholic Church and is not a religious festival. Many of our local participants do go home in February to celebrate the traditional holiday with their families, bringing back to San Francisco new songs and dances for all of us to enjoy. Another difference is that our festival represents many cultures instead of a single one, as one might see elsewhere. It is a uniquely San Francisco celebration of the arts and culture. I am surprised that you are just now responding to the issue of the date---are you new to the City? This year will mark the 30th Anniversary of Carnaval in our community, and each year, the festival and parade attracts hundreds of thousands of participants and is televised live on 2 TV channels. I invite you all to join us. Come on, participate in one of the Carnaval contingents as a musician, costume maker, float designer, dancer or just to lend your presence. Hippies welcome too!


Recommend:    (1)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

caju93

4/2/2008 4:49:08 PM
 

Ouch! Rachel Howard clearly missed the point of the event and of Carnaval. The participants and performers, who in general tend to be respected and important member in the community, were not stripping to the audience but rather performing dances that are culturally relevant and glorified in their county/culture. My suggestion is that the next reporter picked to cover the event is qualified or has some knowledge of Carnaval and/or the dance community--someone who will not diminish a cultural event that is so important, endearing, and beautiful to so many. Again, Rachel Howard truly missed the point of Carnaval and the sad repercussions of her misrepresentation is that so many of her readers will (through her ignorance) develop a negative or poor view of Carnaval. Marina Junqueira Aquarela Principal Dancer and San Francisco Carnaval Queen 2007


Recommend:    (2)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

headofhippies

4/2/2008 5:31:01 PM
 

"Rachel Howard truly missed the point of Carnaval" ... I think this is right, but since "San Francisco Carnaval is no longer connected with the Catholic Church ", haven't the promoters also missed the point? *My* point being: what's so wrong with missing the point? If ya wanna get sexy, why hide behind phrases like "culturally relevant" and "respected ... member in the community"? There's nothing shameful about being sexy ... at least there shouldn't be! I hope to be there, hair and all!


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

bossandnova

4/2/2008 7:11:11 PM
 

Headofhippies: The reporter did miss the point and the headlines are misleading. The King and Queen Competition is not a "strip show" No one was "naked". You are missing the point, too, I'm afraid, if you think it's just about being sexy. But please come out anyway. My invitation to you to join a Carnaval contingent in the remaining 2 months was a genuine invitation. You are obviously interested, so c'mon, check out the website and then check out the classes and rehearsals of some of the contingents. You seem like a fun person--come join us! Next topic: So, then, one question for you: I know what it takes to be the King or Queen of Carnaval. But tell me: what entitles you to be the "head of the hippies"? That's what I'd like to know (smile).


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

headofhippies

4/3/2008 8:45:59 AM
 

bossandnova: You're awesome! Thanks for making me smile this morning. I just called myself headofhippies because there was another user called endofhippies. I considered beginningofhippies, but headofhippies sounded better. :-) I'm a little puzzled now, though. If Carnaval ("farewell to meat") isn't about the beginning of Lent, and it isn't about being sexy and showy, what *is* it about? I guess I'll have to go and find out!


Recommend:    (0)(0)

endofhippies

4/3/2008 8:59:31 AM
 

It sounds like just another San Francisco party ...people half naked ,cross dressed , butts and breasts hanging out, being loud, drinking, taking drugs, and gorging themselves....don't forget to bring your kids!


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

fungae

4/3/2008 11:29:06 AM
 

Isnt carnaval the same as mardi gras? I think I went to a mardi gras party earlier this year....


Recommend:    (0)(0)[Report Abuse]
 

rabbitredu

4/3/2008 6:25:16 PM
 

I had a great time at this event and found the coverage to be in good spirits and consistent with the way the event is promoted, to wit, (from Yahoo Answers) "there's only one Carnaval San Francisco spirit and the couple who can workit the best will walk away with the crowns at the Carnaval San Francisco King and Queen Competition". It might be high art, but it felt to me like like impassioned fun, and it felt to me like the crowd was caught up in the bare skin AND the the dancing. Maybe not what the dancers want, but people had a great time, which seems like the most important outcome.

 

Return to Carnaval SF 2008 Home Page - 2008 Foto Guide Page or Main SF Carnaval Page